Troubleshooting GlanceGuest Permissions on MacOS Catalina

MacOS Catalina introduces new permissions requirements for the GlanceGuest application for screenshare when viewing and view and control only. Show sessions do not require permissions changes.

You may need to instruct visitors using MacOS Catalina to update their permissions on their computer to enable Glance. Permissions requirements vary depending on the type of session:

View-Only Sessions

A session where an Agent starts a View session with a visitor.

  1. Visitor goes to the agent's glance address and enters the session code, which auto-downloads the GlanceGuest application from the visitor’s computer.

  2. Visitor starts a session from the Join page using the agent’s Glance address.

  3. Visitor gets an MacOS alert that the GlanceGuest.app was downloaded from the internet. Visitor clicks Open.

  4. Visitor gets the Glance alert to allow the agent to view and control their screen. Visitor clicks the Allow button to start the session.

  5. Visitor gets an alert to give permission to record the visitor's screen. Visitor clicks Open System Preferences. At this point, the visitor and agent are in a session, however the agent can’t see the visitor's full screen, only the background.

  6. The Preference panel opens to the Screen Recording left tab with the GlanceGuest icon in the right panel. The visitor needs to click Later, not Quit Now or it will end the session. It is not necessary to quit.

  7. Agent can now see the visitor’s full screen including windows, icons and folders.

View and Control Sessions

An agent starts a View and Control session with a visitor.

  1. Visitor goes to agent’s glance address and enter the session code, which auto-downloads the GlanceGuest from the visitor computer.

  2. Visitor starts a session from the Join page using the agent’s Glance address.

  3. Visitor gets an MacOS alert that the GlanceGuest.app was downloaded from the internet. Visitor clicks Open.

  4. Visitor gets the Glance alert to allow the agent to view and control their screen. Visitor clicks the Allow button starting the session.

  5. The visitor gets a MacOS alert to give permission to allow Input monitoring permissions. This permission allows the agent to control the visitor’s screen/computer. At this point, the visitor and agent are in a session, however the agent can’t see the visitor's full screen, only the background nor control the visitor’s display/computer. Visitor clicks Open System Preferences.

  6. In Preferences, the visitor must click the lock icon in order to make changes.

  7. The visitor clicks the GuestGuest radio button in the panel. An alert displays that the GlanceClient will not be able to monitor input until quit. The visitor must choose Quit Now. If the visitor clicks Later, agent mouse and screen control will not be enabled.

    NOTE: Clicking “Quit Now” will end the session and the visitor will need to go back to the agent’s Join page to start a new session.

  8. The visitor goes to the Join page to start a new session.

  9. Visitor gets the Glance alert to allow the agent to view and control their screen. Visitor clicks the Allow button starting the session.

  10. The visitor gets a new MacOS alert to give permission to record the visitor’s screen. Visitor clicks Open System Preferences. At this point the visitor and agent are in a session, however the agent can’t see the visitor's full screen, only the background.

  11. The Preference panel opens to the Screen Recording left tab with the GlanceGuest icon in the right panel.

    NOTE: Unlike Input Monitoring permissions before, the visitor needs to click “Later,” not “Quit Now.” In this case, the session does not end but continues.

  12. Agent can now see the visitor’s full screen including windows, icons and folders.

  13. As soon as the agent clicks or moves their cursor, the visitor gets a new, third MacOS alert to allow control of the visitor's computer using accessibility features.

  14. Visitor again goes to the System Preferences and to the Accessibility tab and must click on the lock icon to authenticate. This time, authenticating does not result in an alert to Quit Now and the agent can now control the visitor’s mouse and screen/computer.

  15. Agent can now control the visitor’s screen, mouse and computer.

Other Scenarios

  1. Second View and Control Session without removing the GlanceGuest App

    If the visitor does not remove the GlanceClient and connects again with an agent at a future time, no alerts occur and no additional steps are needed.

  2. When the visitor connects in a session and has removed the GlanceGuest

    If the visitor deletes the GlanceGuest from their Downloads or Application folder, the GlanceGuest may be installed in the main system’s application folder. In this case, the visitor connects in a View and Control session without the need to download the GlanceGuest application again, and doesn’t receive any alerts or additional steps.

  3. When the visitor connects in a session and has removed the GlanceGuest and the GlanceGuest did not install in the system’s application folder.

    In this case, the visitor will need to re-install the GlanceGuest but will not see any alerts or additional steps needed.

  4. When the visitor was in a View Only session with an agent in the past, and connects again with an agent in the future as a View and Control Session

    In this case, the visitor will get the MacOS “Input Monitoring” alerts and will need to follow steps 5-8 in the above View and Control session. This will require the visitor and agent to disconnect and have to start a new session.

    Once reconnected in a new View and Control session, the visitor will need to follow steps 13-15.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn More