Configuring Glance Screen Share Settings

Under settings, you can customize the Glance experience for yourself and your guests.

To access Glance settings:

  1. Click the G icon in the corner of your screen (next to your computer's clock).
  2. Choose Settings.

Options Tab

Choose How Guests Join (For Windows and Mac)

  • Instantly: Guests join your session as soon as they go to your Glance address and enter the session key, no other downloads or prompts are necessary. (Recommended option.)

  • With high performance plug-in (under 15 seconds): This option takes a bit more time for guests to join, but text will appear sharper.

Add Content Information

You can ask your guests for contact information when they join your sessions. Under Have guests provide, you can specify what information you want your guests to enter.

Guests can add their name, phone, and email. For each of these, you can specify:

  • Required: Guests must enter the information in order to join your session.
  • Optional: Guests will have the option of entering the information.
  • Don't Ask: Glance will not ask your guests for this information.

To see information entered by your guests, click on the My Account link. You can read more about this option on the Manage Your Account page.

Choose a Session Key Option

Screen Share sessions can have a four-digit session key. If you have selected this option, guests must know the session key in order to join.

Glance provides several options for how keys are chosen:

  • Random key: Glance will generate a random key for every session.
  • I'll give guests a key in advance. Ask me for it when session starts: This is for scheduling sessions. Prior to your meeting, send your Glance address and phone conferencing details to everyone and come up with a 4-digit session key to include. When it's time for your meeting, start your Glance session, enter the key you chose and the session will start with that key.

  • Always use this key: Every session will use the same key. Please note that this option is less secure.

  • No key (fastest, least secure): Guests join as soon as they go to your Glance address.

During Session Options

  • Let guest with Glance app show their screen: When this is enabled, guests who have Glance installed can click the G icon and switch to showing their screen on-the-fly. This is great for meetings when you need to change the presenter. Guests can download glance from www.glance.net/guest. They don't need a subscription, but you need one that allows viewing other people's screens.

  • Encrypt my sessions: Your screen will be encrypted as it is sent to your guests. You should always have this checked—it won't affect your experience and it's more secure.

  • Show: Choose which monitor to show to your guests. On Windows, this setting is in the menu when you click the G icon.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn More