Escalate to Web Screen Share from Cobrowse

Overview

Glance provides the ability for agents to escalate from a Cobrowse session to showing their screen, without downloading any software. During a cobrowse session, the agent simply clicks the Screen Share button in the Agent Viewer to share their entire screen, a window, or browser tab. You can also configure Allowed Sites and Bookmarks to prevent agents from sharing unapproved content.

Prerequisites

  • The Glance Group account must be set to use Cobrowse version 5.3 or above.
  • The setting Escalate to Show must be enabled in My Account > Settings. As an administrator, you can choose if agents can share tabs, windows, or their entire desktop.

NOTE: For MacOS users, verify Screen Recording is selected in your system's Security & Privacy Settings for the browser you are using to join sessions.

Using Screen Share from Cobrowse

  1. After the agent and visitor have joined the cobrowse session, the agent clicks the Show Screen icon in the agent viewer.
  2. The agent can choose to share their entire screen, a window, or a tab.
  3. The agent clicks Share to share the content.
  4. The visitor can view the agent’s content.

Multiple Participants Sharing Their Screen

  • If a session involves multiple agents, and a second agent shows their screen, the initial agent will get a message stating Another agent is sharing their screen. You are no longer sharing your screen.

Allowed Sites for Agents (Beta)

Administrators also have the ability to configure approved websites that the agent is allowed to share. During the session, Glance scans the URL of the website being shown, and if the agent navigates to a non-approved page, the screen share stops.

NOTE: All URLs must begin with https://. Wildcard URLS /* are supported.

Prerequisites

  • In Settings, under the setting Escalate to show, you must only select Window.

Best Practices

  • Agents should only use Chromium-based browsers. For best results, use Chrome and Windows OS.
  • Chrome should only be used in the default light theme.

    NOTE: This feature is not supported in browsers using 'dark mode' or 'themes'.

  • Verify Always show full URLs is turned off by right-clicking on the URL in the address bar.
  • Verify Show bookmarks bar is turned off by navigating to Settings > Appearance.
  • Do not expand the bookmarked website to full width.

Configuring Allowed Sites

As an administrator, from Manage Your account> Settings, go to the Web Screen Share Allowed Sites section.

  1. To add an allowed site, enter the URL in the field and click Add URL.
    1. Add URLs to the Allowed List to specify pages an agent can navigate to during a session. All pages within a path will be allowed if an asterisk (*) is appended to a URL. For example, adding https://www.example.com/first/* enables the agent to navigate to all pages within the “first” subdirectory.
    2. Note: When you add content to this list, you automatically are disallowing all sites not included in the list.
  2. Click Save.
  3. You can test the links in Staging, and after testing, click Publish to Production.

Using Allowed Sites

  1. Once the agent and visitor are in a Cobrowse session, the agent can click the Screen Share button>Share…>Window. Note: if the agent selects tab or desktop the screen share session will end.
  2. If the Window contains a URL of an allowed site, the agent is allowed to share the content with the visitor.
  3. Click Stop Sharing to end the screen share session. The cobrowse session will continue.

Screen Share Bookmarks

Glance also provides the ability to configure bookmark links of easy-to-share websites agents can share. Once enabled, these websites display in the Screen Share menu of the Agent Viewer for the agent to easily select.

NOTE: You can use bookmarks without any allowed sites. If you are using Allowed Sites, the bookmark link must be under the same domain as the Allowed Site.

Configuring Screen Share Bookmarks

As an administrator, from Manage Your account> Settings, go to the Web Screen Share Bookmarks.

To add a bookmark:

  1. For URL Title, enter the title for the bookmark link in the Agent Viewer.
  2. For URL, enter the URL of the bookmark site.
  3. Select the Active checkbox.
  4. Click Save.
  5. To add an additional bookmark, click the Add Link button.
  6. You can add up to 20 bookmark links.
  7. After you test your changes in Staging, click Publish to Production.

Using Screen Share Bookmarks

  1. Once the agent and visitor are in a Cobrowse session, the agent can click the Screen Share button to view the bookmark links.
  2. After clicking the link, the bookmark site will open in a new window, and the agent has the opportunity to preview the content.
  3. Click Share… > Window> select the bookmark window from the available windows.
  4. The visitor can view the agent’s window.
  5. Click Stop Sharing to end the screen share session. The cobrowse session will continue.

Troubleshooting

If you attempt to share the entire screen or tab, but you are only configured to share a window, you will receive the following error:

Remediation: You can click the Screen Share button and try to share the Window instead.

If your group is configured with Allowed Sites, and you try to share content that is not on the allowed list, you may see the following error:

Remediation: You can click Yes and click the screen share button to try again.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn More